Pfizer political contributions filled state campaign coffers through… – 1819 News

Alabama politicians took money from the largest and most prolific vaccine manufacturer through the COVID-19 pandemic.
Pfizer is the manufacturer of the most prolific version of the COVID-19 vaccine and the first to receive first full approval from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
With the polarizing effects of COVID and the vaccine in political discourse, people have long expressed concern about pharmaceutical companies’ influence on politicians.
Alabama politicians have taken over $130,000 in political contributions from Pfizer in the past decade. A complete listing can be found here.
Since 2017, Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall has received $23,000 in contributions from Pfizer, the most of any Alabama political figure. Gov. Kay Ivey comes in second place, receiving $10,000 from Pfizer since 2017. Neither Marshall nor Ivey received contributions from Pfizer since the arrival of COVID.
Alabama is not alone in receiving political donations from big pharma. Various pharmaceutical companies contributed over $9 million to more than 2,400 state lawmakers in 2020 alone.
Since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, Pfizer has contributed $10,000 to candidates in Alabama.
The most notable contributions since COVID made landfall in early 2020 are a $1,000 contribution to House Minority Leader Bobby Singleton (D-Greensboro), $1,500 for House Speaker-designate Nathaniel Ledbetter (R-Rainsville) and $1,500 for Senate President Pro-Tem Greg Reed (R-Jasper).
Other notable lawmakers who received donations hold notable sway on state legislative policy on health care. All of the listed lawmakers received donations before the start of the 2022 legislative session.
State Sen. Larry Stutts (R-Tuscumbia), the vice chair of the Senate healthcare committee and a member of the Medicaid Joint Interim Committee, received $1,000.
Senate Majority leader Clay Scofield (R-Guntersville) received $1,000.
State Sen. Garlan Gudger (R-Cullman), a member of the Senate Health Committee, received $500.
State Rep. Paul Lee (R-Dothan), who chairs the House Health Committee, received $1,000.
State Rep. Anthony Daniels (D-Huntsville), a member of the House Insurance Committee, received $500.
State Rep. Joe Lovvorn (R-Auburn), a member of the House Health Committee, received $500.
Editor’s Note: This story was updated to clarify Gov. Kay Ivey and Attorney General Steve Marshall had not received contributions from Pfizer since the beginning of the COVID pandemic.
To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email
Don’t miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning